woman wearing yoga clothes lying on yoga mat while wearing white agate chakra ring ring from whitestone jewelry co.

The Power of Chakras

woman laying down with hand on stomach showing two chakra stone rings on finger from Whitestone Jewelry Co.


Being in tune with your chakras can be a great way to improve your health and well-being. Five chakras are located along the spinal column from bottom to top: root, sacral, solar plexus, heart and throat. The third eye is located between the brows, and the crown sits at the top of the head. Each chakra has its own color which aligns with different aspects of your physical, emotional and spiritual being. By balancing these centers in your body through meditation or yoga you can improve your general health as well as achieve personal growth both spiritually and emotionally.


Root (Red)

Red is the color of Root Chakra, which is located at the base of our spine. It represents grounding and stability in our physical bodies. When this chakra is out of balance, it can cause anxiety and fearfulness.

Red is associated with pitta dosha (fire element) and governs digestion, metabolism and elimination.


Sacral (Orange)

When we're in balance, the sacral chakra allows us to feel safe, secure and confident. Our emotional well-being is balanced when this chakra is clear.

When we're out of balance, we may feel anxious or have trouble expressing ourselves. We might also find it hard to accept love from others or come off as needy in relationships.

As with all the other chakras, you can use crystals like rose quartz (for love) and orange calcite (for creativity) to help clear the sacral center.


Solar Plexus (Yellow)

Yellow: The color of the sun, yellow is associated with the solar plexus chakra. This chakra is located in the upper abdomen and controls digestion and metabolism. It's also linked to personal power, self-esteem, and confidence. In addition to being a gorgeous stone on its own merits—think: sunshine!—it can be used as a tool for tapping into your deepest wisdom.

If you feel overwhelmed by life's demands or are experiencing anxiety or depression, placing a yellow amethyst in your pocket may help soothe you during stressful moments. Putting one under your pillow at night may help prevent nightmares caused by negative thoughts that keep popping up throughout the day (or night).


Heart (Green)

Green stones are the most healing of all chakra stones. They have a strong connection to the heart chakra and can be used for healing.

The heart chakra is associated with love, compassion, empathy and forgiveness. It governs our ability to give and receive love from other people as well as from ourselves. If you have an unhealthy heart chakra it could cause feelings of jealousy or insecurity when it comes to your relationships with others, or even feelings of worthlessness if you don’t believe that you deserve love from another person or yourself.

To use green stones for healing: Find a piece of green crystal that feels good in your hand (you might want to look into either amethyst or opal) then hold it over your heart while saying “I choose love” three times out loud before placing it on top of each breastbone area so that they rest right above where your heart would beat if you could see through them (you may want some padding beneath them so they don’t hurt).


Throat (Light Blue)

The Throat chakra is responsible for aligning the throat chakra with the third eye, which means that it helps you to open up to new perspectives and ideas. It also allows you to better communicate your own thoughts, feelings, and ideas. Because of this connection between communication and self-expression (both verbal and non-verbal), this stone is useful in all areas of creativity.

This stone can be helpful in healing any issues caused by over talking or under talking—both extremes can cause people a lot of trouble! If you find yourself being too quiet around other people despite wanting to express yourself more freely, then wearing an amethyst necklace may help. Or maybe when it comes time for presentations at work you get nervous about what others will think about what you have to say? In that case wearing a lapis lazuli bracelet might do the trick!


Third Eye (Indigo)

The third eye chakra is associated with the pineal gland and the pituitary gland, both of which are located in the brain. The third eye chakra is associated with intuition, imagination and dreams. It’s also associated with psychic abilities and visions.


Crown (Violet and White)

The crown chakra is located at the top of your head, right between your eyebrows. It's associated with spirituality and inspiration, and it connects you to your higher self. The energy here helps you to focus on what's important in life—and to take action on those things.

The pituitary gland tends to be closely related to this chakra, which is sometimes called “the third eye” because it allows us mental clarity for spiritual pursuits such as meditation or prayer. The pineal gland also has some influence over this area; it produces melatonin that helps regulate sleep patterns so we can get enough rest.


Chakra stones can help heal any imbalances in the chakras.

Chakra stones are powerful healing stones that can be used to clear and balance the chakras. They can also be used to balance the physical, mental and spiritual bodies. These stones are an effective way of balancing energy flow from one chakra to another, or even from one part of your body to another. We hope you enjoyed learning about the power of chakras and we encourage you to explore them further. 

Back to blog